Economic Productivity and Innovation Working Group

Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Dwight Ball, Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne, Québec Premier Philippe Couillard, Prince Edward Island Premier Wade MacLauchlan, and British Columbia Premier Christy Clark are leading a working group of ministers in the Economic Productivity and Innovation Working Group (EPIWG).

Innovation, productivity and competitiveness are fundamental building blocks of a strong, diversified economy that promotes growth and creates good jobs for Canadians. Premiers understand the importance of innovation and the role provincial and territorial governments play in fostering a culture of innovation and commercialization that supports thriving businesses and breakthrough research and development, inspires young people to create new ideas and encourages broad collaboration.

Through the EPIWG, Premiers will continue to explore opportunities to enhance productivity and innovation, identify best practices and strive to close the gap between innovation and commercialization in an effort to bolster long-term sustainability and economic prosperity.

The EPIWG was first established in 2015.


Growing Canada’s Economy
July 21, 2016

Premiers work together to strengthen Canada’s future prosperity
July 17, 2015