September 24, 2020 – Meeting by conference call

Unable to hold the summer meeting scheduled for Québec in July 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Premiers held their annual meeting by conference call. This call was in addition to the numerous calls, discussions and exchanges on a quasi-weekly basis that have taken place among Premiers since March 2020 to discuss the response to the pandemic. During the conference call of September 24, 2020, Premier François Legault officially took over as Chair of the Council of the Federation.


Premier François Legault, Québec – Chair
Premier Brian Pallister, Manitoba – Vice-Chair
Premier Doug Ford, Ontario
Premier Blaine Higgs, New Brunswick
Premier Dennis King, Prince Edward Island
Premier Scott Moe, Saskatchewan
Premier Jason Kenney, Alberta
Premier Andrew Furey, Newfoundland and Labrador
Premier Caroline Cochrane, Northwest Territories
Premier Sandy Silver, Yukon
Premier Joe Savikataaq, Nunavut

Nova Scotia Premier Stephen McNeil was unable to take part in the call.
British Columbia Premier John Horgan was unable to participate in the call due to a provincial election.