Canada’s Premiers Announce 2016 Literacy Award Recipients

Canada’s Premiers Announce 2016 Literacy Award Recipients

September 8, 2016 – Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the 12th annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award in honour of International Literacy Day. The award is presented to recipients from all 13 provinces and territories to celebrate outstanding achievement, innovative practice, and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2016 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Blue Quills Literacy Centre – Alberta
Burnaby School District LINC Program – British Columbia
Margaret Banasiak – Manitoba
Evelyn Lewis – Newfoundland and Labrador
Peter Bowmaster – New Brunswick
Jean-Charles Richard – New Brunswick
Archie Laroque – Northwest Territories
Michael Hajnal – Nova Scotia
Saa Pitsiulak – Nunavut
Kenamatewin Native Learning Centre – Ontario
Jean Ellsworth – Prince Edward Island
Carolane Flamand – Québec
Saskatchewan Literacy Network – Saskatchewan
Audrey Lougheed – Yukon

“On behalf of all Premiers, I extend my congratulations to the recipients of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Darrell Pasloski, Premier of Yukon and Chair of the Council of the Federation. “This year’s recipients represent an enduring commitment to literacy of which all Canadians should be proud. I am honoured to recognize their accomplishments.”

Created by Premiers in 2004, the Award recognizes the important role that literacy plays in facilitating Canadians’ participation as full and active citizens in all areas of society. The Award celebrates adult learners who undertake literacy training and the valuable contributions made by Canadians in the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace, and community literacy. The Award is presented to learners, educators, volunteers, community organizations (including non-governmental organizations), and businesses in each province and territory.

Each Award recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.

– MORE –