Canada’s Premiers Announce 2018 Literacy Award Recipients

Canada’s Premiers Announce 2018 Literacy Award Recipients

July 18, 2018 – Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the 14th annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. Presented in each province and territory, the Award celebrates outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2018 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Red Deer Public Library Adult Literacy Program – Alberta
Sara Grant – British Columbia
Julie Black – Manitoba
Suna Dau Yath – Newfoundland and Labrador
Chantal Pelletier – New Brunswick
Tyler Kerr – New Brunswick
Diane Brule – Northwest Territories
Samia Eldik – Nova Scotia
Elizabeth Tunnuq – Nunavut
TR Leger School of Adult, Alternative and Continuing Education – Ontario
Alex Watts – Prince Edward Island
Édith Loualou – Québec
Judy Craig – Saskatchewan
Isabelle Salesse – Yukon

“Literacy is a fundamental skill that helps unleash one’s potential and is crucial to the future prosperity of the Canadian economy,” said Brian Gallant, Premier of New Brunswick and incoming Chair of the Council of the Federation. “On behalf of my colleagues, Canada’s Premiers, we are pleased to congratulate the 2018 recipients of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award. Through tireless efforts and commitments to literacy, these individuals and organizations play an important role in strengthening our social fabric and our economy here in Canada.”

Premiers recognize literacy is an important part of every Canadian’s ability to participate as a full and active citizen in all areas of society. Created in 2004, the Award celebrates adult learners who undertake literacy training, as well as the valuable contributions made by Canadians in the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace, and community literacy. The Award is presented to learners, educators, volunteers, community organizations, and businesses in each province and territory.

– MORE –