Recognizing Excellence in Water Stewardship

Recognizing Excellence in Water Stewardship

January 7, 2013 – The Council of the Federation (COF) Water Stewardship Council announced today the creation of the Excellence in Water Stewardship Awards. These awards will recognize outstanding achievement, innovative practice and leadership in the area of water stewardship. The award will be presented to organizations, partnerships, businesses, institutions, and community groups to recognize their outstanding contributions to the improvement of water stewardship and conservation.

The award builds on the COF Water Charter, which was endorsed by Premiers in 2010. The Charter recognizes the collective obligation of Canadians and their governments to promote water conservation and protect water quality. Premiers directed their Ministers to use the Water Charter as a guide in their work.

There will be one recipient in each province and territory. Award recipients will be announced on March 22, 2013, which is World Water Day and also falls within Canada Water Week.

Established by Premiers in 2011, the COF Water Stewardship Council provides information and strategic advice to Premiers on key trends, issues and opportunities related to Canada’s water resources. It also promotes and, where appropriate, implements the commitments of the COF Water Charter.

Further information about the Excellence in Water Stewardship Awards can be found at

– 30 –

For more information:

Catherine MacIsaac
Director, Communications
Communications Nova Scotia
[email protected]
Lindsay de Leeuw
Project Manager
Council of the Federation Secretariat
[email protected]