Canada’s 13 provincial and territorial Premiers are members of the Council of the Federation. The Council’s objectives are to:

  • Promote interprovincial-territorial cooperation and closer ties between Premiers, to ultimately strengthen Canada;
  • Foster meaningful relations between governments based on respect for the Constitution and recognition of the diversity within the federation;
  • Show leadership on issues important to all Canadians.

Established in 2003, the Council enables Premiers to work collaboratively to strengthen the Canadian federation by fostering a constructive relationship among the provinces and territories, and with the federal government. Premiers are supported by a small Secretariat located in Ottawa.

Founding Agreement - December 2003

Premiers agreed to create a Council of the Federation, as part of their plan to play a leadership role in revitalizing the Canadian federation.

Premiers of the Provinces and Territories of Canada

Tim Houston
Premier of
Nova Scotia

Doug Ford

Premier of Ontario

François Legault
Premier of Québec

Blaine Higgs
Premier of New Brunswick

Wab Kinew
Premier of Manitoba

David Eby
Premier of
British Columbia

Dennis King
Premier of
Prince Edward Island

Scott Moe
Premier of

Danielle Smith
Premier of Alberta

Andrew Furey
Premier of
Newfoundland and Labrador

R.J. Simpson
Premier of the
Northwest Territories

Ranj Pillai
Premier of Yukon

P.J. Akeeagok
Premier of Nunavut