Canada’s Premiers Announce 2020 Literacy Award Recipients

Canada’s Premiers Announce 2020 Literacy Award Recipients

September 8, 2020 – On the occasion of International Literacy Day, Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the 16th annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. Presented in each province and territory, the Award celebrates outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2020 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Portage College Community Adult Learning Programs (CALPs) – Alberta
Story Studio – British Columbia
Awet Biagaber – Manitoba
Elaine Johnson-Chafe – Newfoundland and Labrador
Peter Sawyer – New Brunswick
Élizabeth (Betty) Levasseur – New Brunswick
Delores Vittrekwa – Northwest Territories
Malak Alahmad – Nova Scotia
Charmaine Okatsiak – Nunavut
Fatuma Hassan – Ontario
Linda Fraser – Prince Edward Island
Absa Diop – Québec
Renae Lech – Saskatchewan
Liard First Nation Language Department – Yukon

“On behalf of all Premiers, I congratulate the 2020 recipients of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said François Legault, Premier of Québec and incoming Chair of the Council of the Federation. “The hard work and achievements of this year’s recipients, all of whom have shown an exceptional commitment to literacy, are truly deserving of this recognition.”

Premiers recognize the importance of literacy in enabling participation as a full and active citizen in all areas of society. Created in 2004, the Award celebrates adult learners who undertake literacy training, as well as the valuable contributions made by Canadians in the field of literacy, including family, Indigenous, health, workplace, and community literacy. The Award is presented to learners, educators, volunteers, community organizations, and businesses in each province and territory.

– MORE –