Canada’s Premiers Announce 2022 Literacy Award Recipients

Canada’s Premiers Announce 2022 Literacy Award Recipients

OTTAWA, September 8, 2022 – On the occasion of International Literacy Day, Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the 18th annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. Presented in each province and territory, the Award celebrates exceptional achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2022 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Prospect Human Services Society– Alberta
Margaret Sutherland – British Columbia
Marilyn Freda Captain – Manitoba
Krista Stephens – Newfoundland and Labrador
Valarie Higgins – New Brunswick
Jean-François Ouellette – New Brunswick
Western Arctic Youth Collective – Northwest Territories
Andrew Chacko – Nova Scotia
Jeela Palluq-Cloutier – Nunavut
Ontario’s e-Channel Team – Ontario
Sally Hitchcock – Prince Edward Island
KidsFirst NORTH – Saskatchewan
Donald Inverarity – Yukon

“On behalf of Canada’s Premiers, I am pleased to congratulate the recipients of the 2022 Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said John Horgan, Premier of British Columbia and Chair of the Council of the Federation. “This year’s recipients are truly deserving of this special recognition for their dedication and commitment to literacy.”

Premiers recognize the importance of literacy in enabling participation as a full and active citizen in all areas of society. Created in 2004, the Award celebrates adult learners who undertake literacy training, as well as the valuable contributions made by Canadians in the field of literacy, including family, Indigenous, health, workplace, and community literacy. The Award is presented to learners, educators, volunteers, community organizations, and businesses in each province and territory.

Each Award recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.1

The Council of the Federation comprises all 13 provincial and territorial Premiers. It enables Premiers to work collaboratively, form closer ties, foster constructive relationships among governments, and show leadership on important issues that matter to Canadians.

1 Given the Québec general election on October 3, 2022, Québec announced its award recipient on March 29, 2023.

– MORE –