Canada’s Premiers Announce 2023 Literacy Award Recipients

Canada’s Premiers Announce 2023 Literacy Award Recipients

OTTAWA, September 8, 2023 – On the occasion of International Literacy Day, Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the 19th annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. Presented in each province and territory, the Award celebrates exceptional achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2023 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Society of Brooks Community Adult Learning Council — Alberta
Greater Victoria Alliance for Literacy British Columbia
Hamdi Warsame Manitoba
ABC Life Literacy Newfoundland and Labrador
Colette Frees New Brunswick
Joanne McIsaac New Brunswick
Aurora College Literacy Outreach Centre Northwest Territories
Shelley Gray Nova Scotia
Jeena Kadlutsiak Nunavut
Louise Lalonde Ontario
Dean Ramos Prince Edward Island
Djénébou Drabo Québec
Prince Albert Literacy Network Saskatchewan
Susan McCallum — Yukon

“On behalf of Canada’s Premiers, it is my great pleasure to congratulate the outstanding recipients of the 2023 Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Tim Houston, Premier of Nova Scotia and Chair of the Council of the Federation. “As a result of their hard work and determination, the 2023 recipients are all truly deserving of this special recognition.”

Premiers recognize the importance of literacy in enabling participation as a full and active citizen in all areas of society. Created in 2004, the Award celebrates adult learners who undertake literacy training, as well as the valuable contributions made by Canadians in the field of literacy, including family, Indigenous, health, workplace, and community literacy. The Award is presented to learners, educators, volunteers, community organizations, and businesses in each province and territory.

Each Award recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.

The Council of the Federation comprises all 13 provincial and territorial Premiers. It enables Premiers to work collaboratively, form closer ties, foster constructive relationships among governments, and show leadership on important issues that matter to Canadians.

– MORE –